Round 1

I will post about the day in chronological order, forcing you to wait, or scroll down to see the result;).

Woke up at 8.30am and was at breakfast by 9. Small breakfast selection, with a bit of deli meat, cheese, cereal, juices and croissants. I’m not big on eating in the morning anyways. However, I knew this was going to be my only meal before the game. I try to plan my day around eating one meal before the game, and one after. I don’t like eating several hours before the game because I then tend to get sleepy. To each their own.

Read my book, unpacked my stuff and took a nap. Showered before leaving for the game. Vinay knows his way around Barcelona, and I stuck to him when it came to getting to the playing hall. He decided we should take the subway. It’s about a 15min walk, and then changing subway lines followed by a 5min walk. Took us about 45min altogether. That’s MUCH longer than I am used to. Ideally, I would just walk downstairs to the playing hall, which is common at North American events… But what can you do?

Anyways, Kempinski, Markowski, Mamedov, Vinay and I all get to the playing hall together. Vinay is the leader of the crew, showing the way. Pretty decent playing hall. No water provided. So I have to go and buy my own drink. I am feeling a bit tired from the trip. I need something refreshing. I bought a 1L cold bottle of pepsi. Should hit the spot. Definitely did hit the spot and it helped my concentration. Here are a couple of pictures from the playing hall. The first one is of GM Markowski facing the camera (taken from my seat).

The second one is of the demonstration boards at the start of the round.

To be honest, I like to stay fully concentrated during the game. I walk around a bit to look at other games and take breathers. But I do not talk to anybody during the game. So taking pictures is also a no-no during the game.

Here’s the game:

[Event “?”]
[Site “?”]
[Date “2010.08.20”]
[Round “?”]
[White “Meza”]
[Black “Bluvshtein”]
[Result “0-1”]
[ECO “A47”]
[PlyCount “80”]
[EventDate “2010.08.20”]
[SourceDate “2010.08.20”]

1. d4 Nf6 2. Nf3 e6 3. Bf4 c5 4. e3 b6 5. Nbd2 Bb7 6. c3 Be7 7. Be2 Nh5 8. Bg3
O-O 9. O-O Nxg3 10. hxg3 d5 11. Ne5 f6 12. Ng4 Nd7 13. f4 f5 14. Nf2 a6 15. g4
b5 16. gxf5 exf5 17. Bd3 Qb6 18. Nf3 g6 19. g4 Qe6 20. gxf5 gxf5 21. Qd2 c4 22.
Bc2 Qg6+ 23. Kh1 Qh5+ 24. Nh2 Kh8 25. Qd1 Nf6 26. Qf3 Qh4 27. Rg1 Ne4 28. Nxe4
dxe4 29. Qg3 Qh6 30. Rad1 Rg8 31. Qf2 Qh3 32. Rxg8+ Rxg8 33. Rg1 Rg6 34. Bd1
Kg7 35. b3 Bh4 36. Rxg6+ hxg6 37. Qg1 Bd5 38. b4 Qg3 39. Nf1 Qxg1+ 40. Kxg1 Be1
0-1

My opponent was rated about 2130. I was a bit nervous during the game. I didn’t feel like I had great concentration until I played 25…Nf6. Overall, I feel like I played pretty well. It is never too much fun playing against opponents rated so much lower. It feels like a lose-lose situation, with nothing to gain. You are supposed to win. The opening was a boring one. I had absolutely no preparation since my opponent’s name is: Alcides Ivan Meza Martinez. I tried to find games on him before the game, but no luck.

3.Bf4 is solid in the opening. My opponent should have played h3 instead of allowing Nh5. After trading off his bishop I felt pretty comfortable. 12.Ng4 was a very strange looking move, which gave me many options. My 14…a6 followed by b5 was a bit of a strange plan, but I was just trying to create some problems for my opponent on the queen-side. Not so clear as to what else to do. I didn’t really want to lock the position with c4 just yet, even though it might have been preferable, followed by b4.

Some normal play pursued, where my opponent’s position was VERY solid. We both missed the idea of 24.Kg2 Rf7 25.Nh1!, which certainly makes my life less comfortable. A very creative resource by Rybka. The game really looked like a grinding for the most part. I felt good playing 25…Nf6 and 26…Qh4, simply because it created some serious problems for my opponent. 28.Nxe4 was brutally bad, making white’s position very difficult. Rg2 or Bxe4 were better than the game. I guess my opponent just didn’t sense he needed that knight, but not the bishop.

I didn’t want to trade queens just because they cause him more discomfort, as was shown with my playing Qh3 soon after. 36…Rg6 was a neat move, improving my pawn structure. 35.b3 was the losing move, but the position was already very bad, with Bh4 coming in. My opponent was running short on time, and the position is a hard one to play without time. I decided to just play 38…Qg3, exchange queens and take his queen side pawns. White resigned after I made my 40th move, as he is losing his c3 and b4 pawns.

The game went smooth overall. Not too exciting. I simply beat my opponent in an equal position by making better moves than him. Simple enough, right?

My opponent probably played for his strength. It’s hard for me to say. I did what was needed to win with black, not risking too much.

After the game, I went for dinner with Vinay in an Italian restaurant. Pretty nice place. I got the “Bolognese pizza”. Vinay got a veggie calzone. Food was very good. Here are a few pictures:

I know I look very serious. My excuse is that I don’t smile after chess games, at least not that shortly after them. Or at least not at the camera…

I also found out that Vinay has his own blog. Check it out at: http://vbhat.wordpress.com/

You can also catch some of the games live at: http://www.directefcde.org/Sants2010/tfd.html

Let me know what you think about the post on the game… I will be making a lot of them…

Thanks everybody for the good wishes!

2 Responses to Round 1

  1. I saw your game online, though for some reason the last moves were different there, same result :). I didn’t like his 19. g4, his king loses all his cover after that.
    You overplayed him gradually.

Leave a Reply

