Round 2

I’ll start with the game today.

[Event “?”]
[Site “?”]
[Date “2010.08.21”]
[Round “?”]
[White “Bluvshtein”]
[Black “Briscoe”]
[Result “1-0”]
[ECO “A00”]
[PlyCount “67”]
[EventDate “2010.08.20”]
[SourceDate “2010.08.21”]

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 3. Nc3 d5 4. Qb3 dxc4 5. Qxc4 Bg7 6. e4 O-O 7. Be2 a6 8. Bf4
b5 9. Qxc7 Qxd4 10. Rd1 Qb4 11. Rd2 e5 12. Be3 Nbd7 13. g4 h6 14. h4 Re8 15. g5
hxg5 16. hxg5 Nh7 17. a3 Qb3 18. Nd5 Nhf8 19. Bd1 Qa2 20. Qc1 Qc4 21. Rc2 Qxe4
22. Bf3 Qd3 23. Nc7 e4 24. Be2 Ne5 25. Nxe8 Bg4 26. Nxg7 Bxe2 27. Nxe2 Nf3+ 28.
Kf1 Rd8 29. Kg2 Qd7 30. Ng3 Qg4 31. Rc5 Rd3 32. Ne8 Nh4+ 33. Rxh4 Qxh4 34. Nf6+
1-0

Today’s game was not too exciting. My opponent, rated about 2250, was 5min late to the game. It happens. But then he played into some of my prep, with the line of 9…Qxd4 not being considered very good for black. Recently, players have preferred 9…Qxc7 with compensation for the pawn.

Anyways, I blitzed out until 11.Rd2. My opponent played e5 in reply, which was a mistake. Nbd7 should have been played. My opponent already had 42min left on the clock after 12…Nbd7. I really liked my 13.g4!, forcing my opponent to make some hard decisions. I went for the kill. He already went wrong with h6, providing me with more play on the h-file.

18.Bd1 may have been more precise than the game. My opponent had 2min after his 19th move. I’m sure the the fact that I played 20.Qc1! didn’t help him either. After this move my position is objectively winning. He has to give up a rook or a queen in the variations that ensue.

Nothing else really happened in the game. I won a rook, and then he didn’t take my knight on g7. I was a bit surprised he played as far as he did, since the attack was not really an attack.

Overall, the game went pretty smooth. My opponent didn’t really survive for too long and I can’t say I had to do much to win the game. I felt pretty good overall.

The trip to the playing hall (by subway) actually takes about 35min, as Vinay pointed out after reading my post from yesterday. We timed it more precisely today, and it does take approximately 35min. It took us about as long to walk back. It’s too hot to walk before the game though.

Vinay won his game pretty easily as well. So did all of the other top players. The rounds will get tougher now. I will be playing an IM with black tomorrow.

After the game, Vinay and I went to watch the first half of the Barcelona-Sevilla game at a cafe/bar. It was 3-0 at half time. Messi scored two of the goals, the second of which was nice. The game ended 4-0.

After that we went to a nice Indian restaurant close to our residence.

No pictures today, I got a bit lazy with the camera…

The players also got a free tournament T-shirt today. I asked Vinay to hold onto mine. He jokingly said that he might also keep mine. I’m not so sure he was joking anymore… He has nowhere to hide!

Leave a Reply

