Round 6- risk leads to reward

Today’s game was an interesting affair. I got to play a Cuban FM, rated just over 2400, with the white pieces. I found very few games on him and my preparation was limited. I did find a few of his games on the King’s Indian however, so that’s what I prepared for. Here is the game.

[Event “?”]
[Site “?”]
[Date “2010.08.25”]
[Round “?”]
[White “Bluvshtein”]
[Black “Gonzalez Perez, Arian”]
[Result “1-0”]
[ECO “E90”]
[PlyCount “51”]
[EventDate “2010.08.20”]
[SourceDate “2010.08.25”]

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 3. Nc3 Bg7 4. e4 d6 5. h3 O-O 6. Bg5 Na6 7. Nf3 Qe8 8. g4 h5
9. Qd2 hxg4 10. hxg4 Nxg4 11. O-O-O f6 12. Be3 Qf7 13. Bh3 Qxc4 14. Nh4 Nb4 15.
Kb1 Kf7 16. Bf1 Qe6 17. a3 a5 18. d5 Qd7 19. Bh3 Rh8 20. f3 Rxh4 21. Bxg4 Rxg4
22. fxg4 Na6 23. Rh7 Kg8 24. Qh2 Qd8 25. Rh1 Qf8 26. Rh8+ 1-0

The good thing about playing against the King’s Indian is that there are so many setups against it. Recently, I have chosen rare setups. In this game, I chose 5.h3 followed by Bg5. I have also successfully tried 6.Be3 before. I have also played the main lines at times.

I knew up to 8.g4. I’ve never seen h5 before. Looking at my database, there are 2 games on h5. Reacting to h5 was a crucial point in the game. The first two moves that came to my mind were Bxf6 and gxh5. I didn’t find anything too convincing in that.

Next, I started looking at other moves. Nh2 just looked ugly. But then I started looking at simply sacrificing the pawn. Nice, he willingly opens the h-file. I will always have compensation. I get some more time to develop. I calculate some more. And we go for it… 9.Qd2 is a novelty as far as I know.

10…Bxg4 was a possible alternative for him. I have sufficient compensation and an attack regardless though. I have more space and my pieces are all developed soon enough, with open files for the rooks.

We reached a very interesting position after 12 moves. It looks like black is solid. The knight on g4 is hard to kick out. At this point, I decided to play Bh3 and sacrifice another pawn. Sure, pawns don’t grow on trees. But neither do strong attacks! The queen gets distracted on c4 and has to leave its defensive occupation to capture the c4 pawn. Anyways, I calculated a lot, and sacrificed pawn number two. Be2 would have been a more peaceful alternative.

14.Nh4 was important. Rdg1 would have been an interesting attacking resource as well. But now that the queen is away from defending… Something needs to be done… FAST.

15…Kf7 was a crucial moment. 15…Qf7 would have offered more resistance, even though my attack is still quite strong. But after Kf7, with precise play, it should all be over soon enough.

First thing first. The queen got pretty annoying on c4. So I decided to push it back with Bf1 and d5. 20.f3 Simply leads to a position where I have a lot of extra material and/or a winning attack. The rest was simple from there, simply throwing all my pieces in a deadly way on the poor black king. It’s important to note that black’s light squares bishop and queen’s rook did not move the whole game. 26.Rh8 was the finishing touch, since after 26…Bxh8 there is Qh7 mate.

Overall, I am pretty happy with the game. I didn’t make any clear mistakes and used my initiative well. Also, I was proud that I sacrificed two pawns. In the last few years, my play has become rather stale. I remember how between the years of 2002 and 2005 I really enjoyed throwing my pieces around in sacrifices. Since then I have been known more to be a positional player. This game was a nice change. There was risk involved, but without risk, how can you expect a reward?

I really enjoyed playing this game. It might sound strange coming out of me, but I had a lot of fun during this game. This is generally the case when creative ideas are played. Success must play a role in it as well though…

Vinay and I played some table tennis against the Israeli guys later. The amazing thing is that all four Israeli guys are sitting at 5/6. Well, it might be shocking for everybody, except the Israelis.

4 rounds to go. Things are about to get more interesting…

4 Responses to Round 6- risk leads to reward

  1. I think it was your best game at the tournament so far. I even sent a link to the live game to my friend at work, and he agreed that it was crushing. Keep up the good work!

  2. Denton Cockburn says:

    I agree with Rolling Pawns. If you keep playing like this you’ll make some beautiful games. Are you playing a GM in round 7? (was the title wrong?)

    That’s where the real test of form will be I guess. If you play like this though, you’ll have no problems. It’s crazy to see an IM get beaten like that. It’s as if he was no resistance to you.

  3. Denton Cockburn says:

    Congrats in your win against the GM today (round 7). For a guy just getting back into competitive chess, you’re coming back in style.

Leave a Reply

