Round 9- the bleeding continues

When it rains, it pours. That’s the case for me at least.

I decided to change my routine up for today and skip breakfast to have lunch a bit later. The new routine involved waking up later, which helped since I had trouble falling asleep last night. It was probably a combination of the game and my cold.

Here is my game from today.

[Event “?”]
[Site “?”]
[Date “2010.08.28”]
[Round “?”]
[White “Gerzhoy”]
[Black “Bluvshtein”]
[Result “1-0”]
[ECO “A33”]
[PlyCount “65”]
[EventDate “2010.08.20”]
[SourceDate “2010.08.28”]

1. c4 Nf6 2. Nc3 c5 3. Nf3 Nc6 4. d4 cxd4 5. Nxd4 e6 6. g3 Qb6 7. Nb3 Ne5 8. e4
Bb4 9. Qe2 d6 10. f4 Nc6 11. Bg2 O-O 12. Be3 Bxc3+ 13. bxc3 Qc7 14. c5 d5 15.
e5 Nd7 16. c4 d4 17. Nxd4 Nxd4 18. Bxd4 Nxc5 19. Qe3 Na4 20. O-O Nb6 21. c5 Nc4
22. Qc3 Na5 23. f5 Nc6 24. f6 Rd8 25. Bxc6 Qxc6 26. Qe3 Kh8 27. fxg7+ Kg8 28.
Rxf7 Kxf7 29. Qg5 Qd5 30. Rf1+ Kg8 31. Qf6 Qxd4+ 32. Kg2 Qe4+ 33. Kh3 1-0

I didn’t prepare for this opening today, since Leonid plays e4 and d4 almost exclusively. I did however prepare the line before coming to the tournament. I was prepared up to 13…Qc7 and then I started playing less than ideally.

14…dxc5 15.Bxc5 Rd8 16.e5 Na5 is known to be fine for black instead of what I played. My idea was a bit too passive. I was hoping to get the better pawn structure and take advantage of it once my queen side is developed. We never reached that stage of the game.

Everything has actually been played before until my 20th move, which was an important mistake. 20…Bd7 promises me a position close to equality. I had miscalculated something in a line there with a later Bxa7.

After 20…Nb6 my position became very bad. Leonid was converting precisely. 26…Kh8 loses on the spot, due to exactly what my opponent did. 26…Qe8 offered me some more chances but the position is already bad enough at this point.

I’m not happy with today’s game, but it is a completely different story from yesterday. Yesterday gave me somewhat of a “chess hangover”. It was hard to get some of those positions out of my head as I was falling asleep, as well as this morning.

But today, my opponent played well. I gotta give it to him. I made some mistakes which I shouldn’t have made. That’s what I need to learn from. I didn’t appear to have any sense of urgency during the game.

I am having trouble assessing the initiative. I guess that’s what has been lost during the year. I am trying to play very positionally, as I did today, without looking at initiative as a possible factor in evaluations.

Hoping to stop the bleeding tomorrow. Time to get healthy as well.

Tomorrow’s round is at a nice and early 9.30am, Barcelona time.

2 Responses to Round 9- the bleeding continues

  1. As I understand this is a first tournament after some break. So, as you remember, there is an expression in Russian: “The first pancake is always a lump”. Take it easy, learn all lessons and the next one will be better.

  2. Denton Cockburn says:

    I agree with Rolling Pawns. You know you’re not at peak right now, especially with your cold. Don’t let any of those 2 results get to you (even though you said you don’t already). Try to find some cold medicine that doesn’t knock you out.

Leave a Reply

