Quick World Open Report

I got back from Philadelphia yesterday after playing in the World Open. I finished the tournament at 5/9. It was a huge disappointment. Something just wasn’t clicking. The effort was there, but the brain apparently was not. One reasonable explanation is the two rounds a day format. After drawing a game that lasted over 5 hours in the 8th round, I quickly collapsed in the final round. I tried to combat fatigue with a sixth round half point bye, but it was just not to be. I will be reporting more on the tournament after I finish my upcoming one.

It would be nice to say that this stuff “just happens”, everybody has bad tournaments. Which is of course true. But the truth is that it really sucks when it happens. There is no better way to put it. Setbacks, in the form of bad tournaments, are a big part of chess. All it often takes is a fresh start at a new tournament.

I will not be waiting long for my next tournament, with the Canadian Open starting on Saturday. Hope to see many of you there! I will be giving a simultaneous exhibition tomorrow at 8pm to start the festivities.

Let’s finish on a positive note. My July 1st rating is 2611;).

2 Responses to Quick World Open Report

  1. http://rollingpawns.wordpress.com says:

    Mark, I enjoyed watching your game yesterday at Canadian Open, where you had R+B vs. R.
    I went along the line in Nalimov DB and saw, that as soon as the guy made the wrong move, that was it, you didn’t let him go. Good luck!

  2. Hans Jung says:

    Hi Mark, Over 2600 in print – finally! What a milestone! Congratulations!Hans

Leave a Reply

